UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

William J. Froehlich, Chairman Nicholas G. Trikouros Dr. William E. Kastenberg

In the Matter of:

FirstEnergy NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY

(Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1)

Docket No. 50-346-LR

ASLBP No. 11-907-01-LR-BD01

August 22, 2012

NOTICE

(Advising Parties of Amendments to 10 C.F.R. Part 2)

On August 3, 2012, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission amended its regulations related

to adjudicatory proceedings under 10 C.F.R. Part 2.¹ These new regulations take effect on September 4, 2012, and apply to "obligations and disputes that arise after" that date.² While we expect that the parties will familiarize themselves with these new regulations in their entirety, we wish to highlight two changes that are particularly relevant to this proceeding.

First, given Intervenors' recent string of requests to amend proposed Contention 5, we note that the Commission has amended the regulations regarding the filing of new and amended contentions.³ Second, given a prior dispute that arose in this proceeding regarding the timing of dispositive motions, we note that the Commission has clarified that the 10-day

¹ Amendments to Adjudicatory Process Rules and Related Requirements; Final Rule, 77 Fed.Reg. 46,561 (Aug. 3, 2012).

² <u>Id.</u> at 46,562.

³ <u>See id.</u> at 46,571-72, 46,591.

deadline in 10 C.F.R. § 2.323(a) for filing motions applies to "all motions . . . except § 2.309 motions for new or amended contentions" filed after the initial period for petitions to intervene.⁴

The Initial Scheduling Order (ISO) will continue to govern the conduct of this proceeding.⁵ If any of the parties believes that the new regulations require a change to our ISO, it should bring the matter to the Board's attention in a response to this issuance filed no later than Wednesday, August 29, 2012.

FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD /RA/

William J. Froehlich, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland August 22, 2012

⁴ <u>Id.</u> at 46,593.

⁵ <u>See</u> Initial Scheduling Order (June 15, 2011) (unpublished).

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

FIRST ENERGY NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY

Docket No. 50-346-LR

(Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing **NOTICE (Advising Parties of Amendments to 10 C.F.R., Part 2)** have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange.

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication Mail Stop O-7H4M U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: <u>ocaamail@nrc.gov</u>

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Mail Stop T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

William J. Froehlich, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>william.froehlich@nrc.gov</u>

Nicholas G. Trikouros Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>nicholas.trikouros@nrc.gov</u>

William E. Kastenberg Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>wek1@nrc.gov</u>

Hillary Cain, Law Clerk E-mail: <u>hillary.cain@nrc.gov</u> Matthew Flyntz, Law Clerk E-mail: <u>matthew.flyntz@nrc.gov</u> Office of the Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001 Hearing Docket E-mail: <u>hearingdocket@nrc.gov</u>

Office of the General Counsel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-15D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001 Edward L. Williamson, Esq. E-mail: <u>edward.williamson@nrc.gov</u> Lloyd B. Subin, Esq. E-mail: <u>lloyd.subin@nrc.gov</u> Brian Harris, Esq. E-mail: <u>brian.harris@nrc.gov</u> Catherine Kanatas, Esq. E-mail: <u>catherine.kanatas@nrc.gov</u> Brian P. Newell, Paralegal E-mail: <u>brian.newell@nrc.gov</u>

OGC Mail Center : OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov

FirstEnergy Service Company. Mailstop: A-GO-15 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308 David W. Jenkins, Esq. E-mail : <u>djenkins@firstenergycorp.com</u>

Docket No. 50-346-LR NOTICE (Advising Parties of Amendments to 10 C.F.R., Part 2)

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20004 Stephen Burdick, Esq. E-mail: <u>sburdick@morganlewis.com</u> Kathryn M. Sutton, Esq. E-mail: <u>ksutton@morganlewis.com</u> Martin O'Neill, Esq. E-mail: <u>martin.oneill@morganlewis.com</u> Timothy Matthews, Esq. E-mail: <u>tmatthews@morganlewis.com</u> Jane Diecker, Esq. E-mail: <u>jdiecker@morganlewis.com</u> Mary Freeze, Legal Secretary E-mail: <u>mfreeze@morganlewis.com</u>

Erich Pica, President Friends of the Earth 1100 15th Street, NW 11th Floor Washington, D.C. 20555 E-mail: <u>mkeever@foe.org</u> Citizens Environmental Alliance (CEA) of Southwestern Ontario 1950 Ottawa Street Windsor, Ontario Canada N8Y 197

Green Party of Ohio 2626 Robinwood Avenue Toledo, Ohio 43610

Don't Waste Michigan 811 Harrison Street Monroe, Michigan 48161 Michael Keegan E-mail: <u>mkeeganj@comcast.net</u>

Terry J. Lodge, Counsel for CEA, Don't Waste Michigan, and Green Party of Ohio 316 N. Michigan Street, Suite 520 Toledo, OH 43604-5627 E-mail: <u>tjlodge50@yahoo.com</u>

Beyond Nuclear 6930 Carroll Avenue Suite 400 Takoma Park, Md. 20912 Kevin Kamps E-mail : <u>kevin@beyondnuclear.org</u> Paul Gunter E-mail : <u>paul@beyondnuclear.org</u>

[Original signed by Christine M. Pierpoint] Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 22nd day of August 2012