

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION II SAM NUNN ATLANTA FEDERAL CENTER 61 FORSYTH STREET, SW, SUITE 23T85 ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-8931

January 12, 2006

Tennessee Valley Authority
ATTN: Mr. K. W. Singer
Chief Nuclear Officer and
Executive Vice President
6A Lookout Place
1101 Market Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

SUBJECT: MEETING ANNOUNCEMENT: CATEGORY 1 MEETING WITH TVA

REGARDING ALL NUCLEAR FACILITIES - DOCKET NOS. 50-259, 50-260,

50-296, 50-327, 50-328, 50-390, 50-391, 50-438, AND 50-439

Dear Mr. Singer:

This letter confirms my conversation with Mr. Glenn Morris of your staff on January 11, 2006, concerning a senior management meeting, Public Meeting Category 1, for February 28, 2006, at 10:00 a.m. EST. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss strategic objectives and initiatives of the TVA nuclear organization, and is being conducted at your request. The location of the meeting will be at the Region II Office, Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth Street, S.W., Atlanta, Georgia, in Suite 24T20. The meeting will be an open meeting in accordance with "NRC's Policy Statement for Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," May 28, 2002 (Federal Register Volume 67, Number 102, Pages 36920-36924). The meeting notice which provides additional details is enclosed.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</a> the Public Electronic Reading Room).

Should you have any questions concerning this meeting, please contact me at 404-562-4520.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Stephen J. Cahill, Chief Reactor Projects Branch 6 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos.: 50-259, 50-260, 50-296 License Nos.: DPR-33, DPR-52, DPR-68

Docket and License Nos.: (Continue on page 2)

TVA 2

Docket Nos. 50-327, 50-328 License Nos. DPR-77, DPR-79

Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391

License No. NPF-90 and Construction

Permit No. CPPR-92

Docket Nos. 50-438, 50-439

Construction Permit Nos. CPPR-122, CPPR-123

Enclosure: As Stated

cc: Ashok S. Bhatnagar Senior Vice President Nuclear Operations Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Larry S. Bryant, Vice President Nuclear Engineering Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Brian O'Grady Site Vice President Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Robert J. Beecken, Vice President Nuclear Support Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

General Counsel
Tennessee Valley Authority
Electronic Mail Distribution

John C. Fornicola, Manager Nuclear Assurance and Licensing Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Bruce M. Aukland, Plant Manager Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution Glenn W. Morris, Manager Corporate Nuclear Licensing and Industry Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

William D. Crouch, Manager Licensing and Industry Affairs Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

State Health Officer Alabama Dept. of Public Health RSA Tower - Administration 201 Monroe St., Suite 700 P. O. Box 303017 Montgomery, AL 36130-3017

Chairman Limestone County Commission 310 West Washington Street Athens, AL 35611

Masoud Bajestani, Vice President Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Decatur, AL 35609

Robert G. Jones, Restart Manager Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Decatur, AL 35609 TVA 3

cc: (Continued on page 3)

Randy Douet
Site Vice President
Sequoyah Nuclear Plant
Electronic Mail Distribution

David A. Kulisek, Plant Manager Sequoyah Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Lawrence E. Nanney, Director TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation Division of Radiological Health Electronic Mail Distribution

County Mayor Hamilton County Courthouse Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

James H. Bassham, Director Tennessee Emergency Management Agency Electronic Mail Distribution

Michael D. Skaggs Site Vice President Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Paul L. Pace, Manager Licensing and Industry Affairs Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Jay Laughlin, Plant Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

County Executive Rhea County Courthouse 375 Church Street, Suite 215 Dayton, TN 37321-1300 County Mayor
P. O. Box 156
Decatur, TN 37322

Email Distribution: (See page 4)

TVA 4

## • Email

Meeting Announcement Coordinator, OADM/DFIPS (PMNS)

Region II Administrator's Secretary

**DRP** Division Secretary

Region II Division Directors and Deputies

K. Clark, Region II Public Affairs Officer

R. Hannah, Region II Public Affairs Officer

Region II Receptionist

**Headquarters Operations Officer** 

E. Brown, NRR

B. Pascarelli, NRR

M. Marshall, NRR

M. Chernoff, NRR

D. Pickett, NRR

Beth Wetzel, Region II Regional Coordinator OEDO (16E15)

**PUBLIC** 

☐ PUBLICLY AVAILABLE ADAMS: ☐ Yes ACCESSION NUME		□ NON-PUBLICLY AVAILABLE BER:		□ SENSITIVE			□ NON-SENSITIVE				
OFFICE	DRP:RII	DRP:RII		1		1		1		1	
SIGNATURE	SJC	RPC									
NAME	SCahill	RCarrion									
DATE	01/12/2006	01/12/2006									
E-MAIL COPY?	YES NO	YES NO	YES NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY DOCUMENT NAME: E:\Filenet\ML060120320.wpd

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING WITH TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY

FACILITY: Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant

Sequoyah Nuclear Plant Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Bellefonte Nuclear Plant

DOCKETS: 50-259, 50-260, 50-296, 50-327, 50-328, 50-390, 50-391, 50-438, AND

50-439

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, February 28, 2006

10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

LOCATION: Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center - NRC Region II Office, Suite 24T20

61 Forsyth Street, S.W. Atlanta, GA 30303

PURPOSE: To discuss strategic objectives and initiatives of the TVA nuclear

organization. The NRC's Policy Statement, "Enhancing Public

Participation in NRC Meetings," effective May 28, 2002, applies to this meeting. The policy statement may be found on the NRC Web site, <a href="https://www.nrc.gov">www.nrc.gov</a> and contains information regarding visitors and security.

CATEGORY: This is a **Category 1** meeting: The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

NRC OFFICE(S)

PARTICIPATING: Region II

OTHER ORGANIZATIONS PARTICIPATING: None

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

W. Travers, Regional Administrator, Region II (RII)

L. Plisco, Deputy Regional Administrator, RII

C. Casto, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP), RII V. McCree, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS), RII

J. Shea, Deputy Director, DRP, RII

H. Christensen, Deputy Director, DRS, RII

S. Cahill, Chief, Reactor Projects Branch 6, DRP, RII

## **LICENSEE**

Karl W. Singer, Chief Nuclear Officer and Executive Vice President Ashok S. Bhatnagar, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Operations Brian O'Grady, Site Vice President, Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Masoud Bajestani, Vice President, Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart, Browns

Ferry Nuclear Plant

Randy Douet, Site Vice President, Sequoyah Nuclear Plant Michael D. Skaggs, Site Vice President, Watts Bar Nuclear Plant

MEETING CONTACT: Stephen J. Cahill, NRC, RII 404-562-4520

404-562-4520 SJC2@nrc.gov