

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

April 6, 2005

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH UNION ELECTRIC COMPANY/AMEREN UE

FACILITY: Callaway Plant

DOCKET: 50-483

DATE & TIME: Thursday, April 21, 2005

6:30 - 8 p.m. (CDT)

LOCATION: Capitol Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

415 West McCarty Street

Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

PURPOSE: The purpose of the meeting is to describe the reactor oversight process,

discuss licensee performance at the Callaway Plant during calendar year 2004, and discuss topics of potential interest to the public. The annual

assessment letter for the Callaway Plant is located at:

http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/LETTERS/call\_2004q4.pdf

CATEGORY 1: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with

the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

A. Vegel, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

D. Graves, Chief, Project Branch B, DRP M. Peck, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

UNION ELECTRIC COMPANY

C. D. Naslund, Sr. Vice President & Chief Nuclear Officer

L. E. Thibault. General Plant Manager C. R. Younie, Manager Operations K. Young, Manager-Regulatory Affairs

MEETING CONTACT: David N. Graves

817-860-8141 dng@nrc.gov CC:

Charles D. Naslund, Senior Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer Union Electric Company P.O. Box 620 Fulton, MO 65251

Professional Nuclear Consulting, Inc. 19041 Raines Drive Derwood, MD 20855

John O'Neill, Esq. Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 2300 N. Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20037

Mark A. Reidmeyer, Regional Regulatory Affairs Supervisor Regulatory Affairs AmerenUE P.O. Box 620 Fulton, MO 65251

Missouri Public Service Commission Governor's Office Building 200 Madison Street P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Rick A. Muench, President and Chief Executive Officer Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corporation P.O. Box 411 Burlington, KS 66839

Dan I. Bolef, President Kay Drey, Representative Board of Directors Coalition for the Environment 6267 Delmar Boulevard University City, MO 63130 Les H. Kanuckel, Manager Quality Assurance AmerenUE P.O. Box 620 Fulton, MO 65251

Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0116

Scott Clardy, Director Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570

Keith D. Young, Manager Regulatory Affairs AmerenUE P.O. Box 620 Fulton, MO 65251

David E. Shafer Superintendent, Licensing Regulatory Affairs AmerenUE P.O. Box 66149, MC 470 St. Louis, MO 63166-6149

Certrec Corporation 4200 South Hulen, Suite 630 Fort Worth, TX 76109

Tim Diemler
Emergency Preparedness
Director
Callaway County/Fulton
P.O. Box 817
Fulton, MO 65251

Lee Fritz
Presiding Commissioner
Callaway County Courthouse
10 East 5th Street
Fulton, MO 65251

Gabe Craighead
Eastern District Commissioner
Callaway County Courthouse
10 East 5th Street
Fulton, MO 65251

Donald "Doc" Kritzer Western District Commissioner Callaway County Courthouse 10 East 5th Street Fulton, MO 65251

The Honorable Robert Craghead Mayor of Fulton Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, MO 65251

William Johnson Fulton City Administrator Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, MO 65251

Steve Myers Chief of Police Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, MO 65251

Dennis Crane Sheriff, Callaway County P.O. Box 817 Fulton, MO 65251

The Honorable Tom Shackelford Mayor of Mokane P.O. Box 41 Mokane. MO 65059

Richard Hudson, Director Emergency Management Gasconade County Courthouse P.O. Box 295 Hermann, MO 65041 Ron Jost Presiding Commissioner Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Max Aubuchon Northern District Commissioner Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Jerry Lairmore
Southern District Commissioner
Gasconade County Courthouse
119 East First Street
Hermann, MO 65041

Glenn Ebker Sheriff, Gasconade County Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Fay Owsley
Gasconade County Public
Administrator
Gasconade County Courthouse
119 East First Street
Hermann, MO 65041

The Honorable Samuel Birk Mayor of Morrison Route 1 Morrison, MO 65061

Bob Bishop Emergency Management Director Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

Charles Korman
Presiding Commissioner
Montgomery County Courthouse
211 East Third
Montgomery City, MO 63361

Rich Daniels
First District Commissioner
Montgomery County Courthouse
211 East Third
Montgomery City, MO 63361

John Noltensmeyer Second District Commissioner Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

Robert Davis Sheriff, Montgomery County Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

The Honorable Steve Wehrle Mayor of Rhineland P.O. Box 384 Rhineland, MO 65069

Bradley Strope
Emergency Management
Director
Osage County Courthouse
P.O. Box 1011
Linn, MO 65051

Russell J. Scheulen Presiding Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

Jerry G. Wolfe First District Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

Daryl L. Luecke Second District Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051 Carl Fowler Sheriff, Osage County Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

The Honorable Vernon McKague Mayor of Chamois Star Route Chamois, MO 65024

Federal Emergency Management Agency Mr. Dick Hainje, Regional Director Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, MO 64108-2670 E-Mail To:

( ) NRC Attendees

OEWEB S. Bogle (for predecisional enf. or regulatory conferences)

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

EJB1 E. Benner

JLD J. Dixon-Herrity, RIV EDO Coordinator JND J. Donohew, Project Manager, NRR

VLD V. Dricks, PAO WAM W. Maier, RSLO

GFS G. Sanborn, EO GMVM. Vasquez, ES

CJG, SLR
LAO, DLF, MJS
NLH, LMB, JLH2
CMS, JAK, BST1
JLP

RA Secretaries
DRP Secretaries
DRS Secretaries
DNMS Secretaries
J. Pellet, IRMB

LPL P. Longdo, Receptionist AMM A. Mattila, Security Advisor

SISP Review Completed:	dng	ADAMS: /	Yes	□ No		Initials: _	_dng_
/ Publicly Available □	Non-Publich	v Available	□ Se	nsitive	/ N	Non-Sensitive	۔ د

## R:\\_CWY\2005\CW4-21-05MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/B	PAO	RSLO	C:DRP/B	
RAKopriva;df	VLDricks	WAMaier	DNGraves	
/RA/	CJGordon for	CJGordon for	/RA/	
4/6/05	4/6/05	4/6/05	4/6/05	