

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 8, 2004 SUBJECT: MEETING WITH ENERGY NORTHWEST FACILITY: **Columbia Generating Station** DOCKET: 50-397 DATE AND TIME: April 06, 2005 6:00 pm to 7:30 pm LOCATION: Energy Northwest Office Complex Walkley Room 3000 George Washington Way Richland, WA 99352-0968 PURPOSE: End-of-cycle public meeting to present the NRC assessment of Columbia Generating Station's safety performance and to describe other NRC focus areas for the period January 1 through December 31, 2004. The annual assessment letter for Columbia Generating Station can be located at: http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS CATEGORY 1: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned. PARTICIPANTS: NRC A. Vegel, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP) W. B. Jones, Chief, Branch E, DRP Z. K. Dunham, Senior Resident Inspector, Branch E, DRP R. Cohen, Resident Inspector, Branch E, DRP **LICENSEE** D. K. Atkinson, Vice President, Nuclear Generation S. Oxenford, Vice President, Technical Services D. Coleman, Manager, Regulatory Programs MEETING CONTACT: William Jones, NRC, RIV 817/860-8147 WBJ@nrc.gov

cc: J. V. Parrish (Mail Drop 1023) Chief Executive Officer Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968

W. Scott Oxenford (Mail Drop PE04) Vice President, Technical Services Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968

Albert E. Mouncer (Mail Drop PE01) Vice President, Corporate Services/ General Counsel/CFO Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968

Chairman Energy Facility Site Evaluation Council P.O. Box 43172 Olympia, WA 98504-3172

Douglas W. Coleman (Mail Drop PE20) Manager, Regulatory Programs Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968

Gregory V. Cullen (Mail Drop PE20) Supervisor, Licensing Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968

Chairman Benton County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 190 Prosser, WA 99350-0190

Dale K. Atkinson (Mail Drop PE08) Vice President, Nuclear Generation Energy Northwest P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968

William A. Horin, Esq. Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005-3502

Matt Steuerwalt Executive Policy Division Office of the Governor P.O. Box 43113 Olympia, WA 98504-3113

Lynn Albin, Radiation Physicist Washington State Department of Health P.O. Box 7827 Olympia, WA 98504-7827

Gary Robertson, Director Division of Radiation Protection Department of Health P.O. Box 47827 Olympia, WA 98504-7827

Claude Oliver, Chairman Board of Benton County Commissioners P.O. Box 190 Prosser, WA 99350

Frank H. Brock, Chair Board of Franklin County Commissioners 1016 North 4th Street Pasco, WA 99301

Federal Emergency Management Agency Federal Regional Center Mr. John Pennington, Regional Director Region X 130 228th Street, SW Bothell, WA 98021-9796

Lynn Albin, Radiation Physicist Washington State Dept. of Health P.O. Box 47827 Olympia, WA 98504-7827

The Honorable James R. Beaver Mayor of Kennewick City Hall 210 West 6th Avenue Kennewick, WA 99336

Gary Crutchfield Pasco City Manager P.O. Box 293 Pasco, WA 99301

John C. Darrington Manager, City of Richland City Hall, 505 Swift Boulevard Richland, WA 99352

Rick Dodson, Environmental Health Benton-Franklin Co. Health District 800 West Canal Drive Kennewick, WA 99336

The Honorable Michael Garrison Mayor of Pasco P.O. Box 293 Pasco, WA 99301-293

Dr. Larry Jecha Benton-Franklin Co. Health District Environmental Health 471 Williams Street Richland, WA 99352

Mike Wilson, Organizational Project Manager Nuclear Waste Programs Department of Ecology P.O. Box 47600 Olympia, WA 98504

The Honorable Jerry Peltier Mayor of West Richland City Hall 3801 West Van Giesen West Richland, WA 99352

The Honorable Rob Welch Mayor, City of Richland City Hall, 505 Swift Boulevard Richland, WA 99352

Jim Mullen, Director WA State Emergency Management Military Department Building 20 (MS TA-20) Camp Murray, WA 98430-5122

E-Mail To:	
()	NRC Attendees
PMNS	Mtg Announcement Coordinator
BWS	B. Sheron, ADPT
OEMAIL	D/OE
RLF2	R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator
TXR	T. Reis
JLD	Jennifer Dixon-Herrity, RIV EDO Coordinator
WAM1	W. Maco, Project Manager, NRR
ZKD	Z. Dunham, Senior Resident Inspector
VLD	V. Dricks, PAO
WAM	W. Maier, RSLO
GMV	M. Vasquez, ES
CJG, SLR	RA Secretaries
LAO, DLF, MJS	DRP Secretaries
NLH, LMB, JLH2	DRS Secretaries
CMS, JAK, BST1	DNMS Secretaries
JLP	J. Pellet, IRMB
LPL	P. Longdo, Receptionist

SISP Review Completed:	WBJ	ADAMS: /	Yes	🗆 No	Initials: _WBJ
/ Publicly Available □ N	Non-Publicly	Available 🗆	Sensi	tive /	Non-Sensitive

R:/_C	COL/200)5/4-6-05	EOC	MN.wpd
-------	---------	-----------	-----	--------

RIV:DRP:C/E	PAO	RSLO		
WBJones	VDricks	WMaier		
/RA/	/RA/	CJG		
3/8/05	3/8/05	3/8/05		
		E=E_mail	E=EaxOEEICIAI	RECORD COPY

OFFICIAL RECORD COPYT=Telephone E=E-mail F=FaxOFFICIAL RECORD COPY