

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

August 31, 2004

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

FACILITY: Cooper Nuclear Station

DOCKET: 50-298

EA: EA-04-131

DATE & TIME: Monday, September 27, 2004

12 noon - 4 p.m. (CDT)

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Training Conference Room

Region IV

611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-4005

PURPOSE: This meeting is a Regulatory Conference, the purpose of which is to provide

the licensee an opportunity to present to the NRC their perspectives on the facts and the process used by the NRC to arrive at the potential Greater than Green finding described in NRC Inspection Report 05000298/2004014 (ML042250525). This apparent violation of NRC requirements involved a failure to restore the service water system to its normal configuration

following maintenance.

CATEGORY 1: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this meeting

and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after

the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

The NRC provides reasonable accommodation to individuals with disabilities where appropriate. If you need a reasonable accommodation to participate in this meeting, or need this meeting notice or the transcript or other information from the meeting in another format (e.g., braille, large print), please notify the NRC's meeting contact listed below. Determinations on requests for reasonable accommodation will be made on a case-by-case

basis.

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of Region IV, plus members of

the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) and the Division of Systems Safety and Analysis (DSSA). Both the participants from NRR and DSSA will

attend via video conference.

NRC

- A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)
- D. Chamberlain, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)
- K. Kennedy, Chief, Project Branch C, DRP
- W. Walker, Senior Project Engineer, Project Branch C, DRP
- S. Schwind, Senior Resident Inspector, Cooper Nuclear Station, DRP
- D. Loveless, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS
- M. Tschiltz, Chief, Probabilistic Safety Assessment Branch, DSSA
- R. Palla, Engineer, Safety Programs Section A, Probabilistic Safety Assessment Branch, DSSA
- G. Parry, Senior Level Advisor for Probabilistic Risk Assessment, DSSA
- M. Honcharik, Project Manager, Division of License Project Management, Project Directorate IV-1 A, NRR

LICENSEE

- G. Kline, Director, Engineering
- P. Fleming, Manager, Licensing
- T. Hottovy, Manager, Equipment Reliability
- K. Sutton, Supervisor, Risk Management
- M. Holmes, Operations Training
- G. Seeman, Risk Engineer
- D. Vorpahl, Engineer

MEETING CONTACT: Kriss M. Kennedy, NRC, RIV

817 860-8144 kmk@nrc.gov

cc:

Randall K. Edington, Vice President-Nuclear and CNO Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Clay C. Warren, Vice President of Strategic Programs Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499 P. V. Fleming, Licensing Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, NE 68509-8922

Chairman Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, NE 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65101

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0116

Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366 Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines, IA 50309

William J. Fehrman, President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

Jerry C. Roberts, Director of Nuclear Safety Assurance Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

OEWEB S. Bogle

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

JWC1 J. Craig, Associate Director for Inspections & Programs

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

MAM4 M. Mitchell, RIV EDO Coordinator

V. Dricks, PAO VLD W. Maier, RSLO WAM GFS G. Sanborn, EO M. Vasquez, ES GMV JAC1, CJG RA Secretaries **DRP** Division LAO, DLF, MJS LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

ADAMS: **★** Yes □ No Initials: __rva___

■ Publicly Available □ Non-Publicly Available □ Sensitive ■ Non-Sensitive

R:_CNS\2004\CN9-27-04MN-DRP.wpd

RIV:PE:DRP/C	C:DRP/C	C:ACES	PAO	RSLO
RVAzua;df	KMKennedy	GFSanborn	VLDricks	WAMaier
/RA/	WCWalker for	/RA/	/RA/	JCook for