MEMORANDUM TO: Stephanie M. Coffin, Acting Chief, Section 1

Project Directorate II

Division of Licensing Project Management

FROM: Sean E. Peters, Project Manager, Section 1 /RA/

Project Directorate II

Division of Licensing Project Management

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, July 27, 2004

12:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

11555 Rockville Pike, Room O-8B6

Rockville, Maryland

PURPOSE: To discuss proposed Amendment 33 to the Duke Energy Corporation

Topical Report, Duke-1A. This supplement is related to the licensee's request dated December 18, 2002, as supplemented by letters dated April 24 and October 16, 2003, to modify the Quality Assurance Program

for the Catawba, McGuire, and Oconee Nuclear Stations.

CATEGORY 1:* This is a Category 1 meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation (NRR)

NRC <u>Duke Energy Corporation</u>

K. Heck
P. Prescott
D. Thatcher
K. Gill
J. Coffin
J. Hetcher
J. Peters
J. Wright
J. Jones

Docket Nos. 50-269, 50-270, 50-287, 50-369, 50-370, 50-413, and 50-414

Attachment: Agenda

cc w/att: See next page

MEETING CONTACT: Sean E. Peters, NRR

301-415-1842 sep@nrc.gov

^{*} Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," (67 FR 36920), May 28, 2002

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation (NRR)

NRC <u>Duke Energy Corporation</u>

K. Heck
P. Prescott
D. Thatcher
K. McIntyre
S. Coffin
K. Isley
P. Wright
K. Coyne
L. Jones

Docket Nos. 50-269, 50-270, 50-287, 50-369, 50-370, 50-413, and 50-414

Attachment: Agenda

cc w/att: See next page

MEETING CONTACT: Sean E. Peters, NRR

301-415-1842 sep@nrc.gov

* Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," (67 FR 36920), May 28, 2002

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC

PDII-1 Reading

RidsNrrAdpt (BSheron)

RidsNrrDlpm (LMarsh)

RidsNrrDlpmLpdii (EHackett)

RidsNrrDlpmLpdii-1 (SCoffin)

RidsNrrPMSPeters

D. Clarke

RidsOpaMailCenter

RidsOgcMailCenter

RidsRgn2MailCenter (RHaag)

RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

KHeck

PPrescott

DThatcher

KCoyne

RMcIntyre

TMensah

TKim, EDO

Receptionist (OWFN and TWFN) (hard copy)

PMNS

ADAMS Accession No.: ML041980122 NRC-001

OFFICE	PM:PDII-1	SC:PDII-1 (A)
NAME	SPeters	SCoffin
DATE	7/16/04	7/16/04

<u>AGENDA</u>

NRC MEETING WITH DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION

JULY 27, 2004

12:30 p.m.	Introduction
12:45 p.m.	Duke Energy Corporation Presentation on proposed Amendment 33 to the Duke Energy Corporation Topical Report, Duke-1A, to modify the Quality Assurance Program for the Oconee, McGuire, and Catawba Nuclear Stations.
2:00 p.m.	Discussion of licensee's proposal
3:30 p.m.	Public Comments/Conclusion
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

McGuire Nuclear Station Catawba Nuclear Station Oconee Nuclear Station

CC:

Ms. Lisa F. Vaughn
Duke Energy Corporation
422 South Church Street
Mail Code - PB05E
P.O. Box 1244
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1244

County Manager of Mecklenburg County 720 East Fourth Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Mr. C. Jeffrey Thomas, Manager Regulatory Compliance McGuire Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Ms. Anne Cottingham, Esquire Winston and Strawn 1400 L Street, NW. Washington, DC 20005

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Mr. Peter R. Harden, IV, Vice President Customer Relations and Sales Westinghouse Electric Company 6000 Fairview Road, 12th Floor Charlotte, North Carolina 28210

Dr. John M. Barry Mecklenburg County Department of Environmental Protection 700 N. Tryon Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202 Mr. Richard M. Fry, Director
Division of Radiation Protection
NC Dept. of Env., Health, & Nat. Resources
3825 Barrett Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7721

Ms. Karen E. Long, Asst. Attorney General NC Department of Justice P.O. Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Mr. R. L. Gill, Jr., Manager
Nuclear Regulatory Issues
and Industry Affairs
Duke Energy Corporation
526 South Church Street - Mail Stop EC05P
Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

NCEM REP Program Manager 4713 Mail Service Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4713

Mr. T. Richard Puryear Owners Group (NCEMC) Catawba Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Mr. Lee Keller, Manager Regulatory Compliance Catawba Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 1427 Meadowwood Boulevard P.O. Box 29513 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0513 McGuire Nuclear Station Catawba Nuclear Station Oconee Nuclear Station

CC:

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, South Carolina 29745

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 121 Village Drive Greer, South Carolina 29651

Saluda River Electric P.O. Box 929 Laurens, South Carolina 29360

Mr. Henry Porter, Assistant Director - DWM
Bureau of Solid and Hazardous Waste
Dept. of Health & Env. Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia. South Carolina 29201-1708

NC Electric Membership Corporation P.O. Box 27306 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 4830 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Manager, LIS NUS Corporation 2650 McCormick Drive, 3rd Floor Clearwater, Florida 34619-1035

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 7812B Rochester Highway Seneca, South Carolina 29672

Mr. Michael A. Schoppman Framatome ANP 1911 North Ft. Myer Drive Suite 705 Rosslyn, Virginia 22209 Mr. B. G. Davenport, Manager Regulatory Compliance Oconee Nuclear Site Duke Energy Corporation 7800 Rochester Highway - MS ONO3RC Seneca, South Carolina 29672

Mr. Dhiaa Jamil Vice President Catawba Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Mr. G. R. Peterson, Vice President McGuire Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Mr. Ronald A. Jones, Vice President Oconee Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 7800 Rochester Highway Seneca, South Carolina 29672

Ms. Mary Olson
Director of the Southeast Office
Nuclear Information and Resource Service
729 Haywood Road, 1-A
P.O. Box 7586
Asheville, North Carolina 28802

Mr. Henry Barron
Group Vice President, Nuclear Generation
and Chief Nuclear Officer
P.O. Box 1006-EC07H
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Mr. William R. McCollum Senior Vice President Duke Energy Corporation 526 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006